Cisco Data Center Unified Computing Design Specialist

The Cisco Data Center Unified Computing Design Specialist validates an engineer's ability to design scalable, reliable, and intelligent Data Center Virtualization solutions based on the Cisco Unified Computing System (UCS) along with other Cisco Data Center products, server virtualization software, and server operating systems.

In addition to the VMWare requirement candidates must also meet one of the following criteria:

Option #1 - "Fast Start" Option
Take single 642-978 DCUCD Qualifier Exam demonstrating mastery of foundation datacenter design topics
And hold a Valid CCDA


Option #2
Earn two existing foundation level Datacenter specialists for architects

  • Cisco Data Center Storage Networking Design Specialist (DCSN)
  • Cisco Data Center Networking Infrastructure Design Specialist (DCNID)

The following courses help you prepare for this certification:

DCUCD v4.0 - Data Center Unified Computing Design


Pass the VMware Design Exam (From VMware's VCDX program)

Required Exams

642-993 DCUCD


Cisco Specialist certifications are valid for two years. To recertify do one of the following:

  • Retake and pass all exams required for the certification
  • Pass a current CCIE or CCDE written exam