Cisco CCNP Routing and Switching Certification

Cisco announced an update to the CCNP Certification on the 29th of July 2014.

The CCNP Certification has been re-named to the Cisco Certified Network Professional Routing and Switching Certification. All three courses have been updated and new exams introduced. The re-design has removed wireless, voip and video content and expanded  IPv6. Cisco StackWise, VSS and DMVPN technologies have been added.

The last day to take the current exams is the 29th of January 2015.

It is possible to mix version 1 and version 2 exams in order to achieve certification, there will however be knowledge gaps if the versions of the courses studied and exams taken do not match.

Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) Routing and Switching certification is a job-role-based certification that provides skills to plan, implement, verify and troubleshoot complex network solutions. This certification is for IT and technical professionals that are seeking to advance their skills and work independently on Enterprise networks. The program covers the implementation of secure IPv6 enabled LAN and WAN routing solutions to support today's business critical services and widespread adoption of BYOD across the Enterprise. It also covers high availability, switch virtualisation, and scalable VPN technologies needed to support branch offices and to enable the mobile workforce.

CCNP Prerequisites

Valid CCNA certification or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.

CCNP Exams and Recommended Training

Required Exams Recommended Training
642-902 ROUTE *
300-101 ROUTE 
Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) v1.0
Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) v2.0
642-813 SWITCH *
300-115 SWITCH
Implementing Cisco IP Switched Networks (SWITCH) v1.0
Implementing Cisco IP Switched Networks (SWITCH) v2.0
642-832 TSHOOT *
300-135 TSHOOT
Troubleshooting and Maintaining Cisco IP Networks (TSHOOT) v1.0
Troubleshooting and Maintaining Cisco IP Networks (TSHOOT)v2.0 

*Last day to take old exam is 29th of January 2015

CCNP Recertification

Cisco Professional-level certifications are valid for three years. To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass any current 642-XXX Professional-level exam, or
  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications

When using a higher level of certification to extend other certifications, the expiration date of other certifications will extend to the expiration date of the higher certification (i.e.: If you have one year left on your CCNA certification and you earn a CCIE certification (which has a two-year certification life) then both your CCIE certification and your CCNA certification will expire two years from the date you achieved the CCIE certification).

Please review the FAQ's <Link to PDF Document> for more information, or alternatively contact your Global Knowledge Training Advisor.